skip to Main Content
Ethinog

Amazing place, amazing host, amazing views….book it…

Just arrived back from spending a week there for the first time. You will not meet a nicer host than Evan. He does everything he can for you to make your stay memorable. Sitting in the hot tub looking at the most spectacular view you will see is something you cannot put a price on. The accommodation is superb, the welcome pack you receive is by far the best we have ever had. Will I go there again, well Evan told me he has a guest who has stayed there 14 times, well Evan let’s see if I can beat the record as I will give it a good shot….thanks Evan for your generosity and your kindness…I will see you again very soon. Please thank your friends who lent us the mountain bikes it was much appreciated.
It was just what I needed that break.

Thanks again,
Mark Fry – August 2020

We had a great week, despite the weather. It started well with a welcome from Evan and when we looked around we were pleasantly impressed.
The cottage was warm, clean, well equipped and comfortable. I asked if we could buy some logs and Evan said he’d drop some in. Next morning the logs arrived and Evan told me they were included. I’ve always had to pay elsewhere.
We love the area and found everyone very helpful and friendly. Loved the hot tub, even in the rubbish weather.
Jim and Doz Smith, Liverton, Devon. 9-16 March 2020

Our daughter has stayed here before and invited us to come with them this time. What a lovely place, we can see why they wanted us to experience it too!
Lovely to meet you Evan, you have worked hard. We have had a lovely rest in a lovely place. Braved the hot tub, despite the weather! Thank you.
Penny and Arthur Dean. Nichola and Stephan, Eva and Eben Garde.
South Manchester. 17-20 February 2020

A fantastic week again to celebrate our Mother’s Wake three years ago.
We hired both cottages, fantastic weather for February. We used the hot tub every day. It was a family reunion for sisters, cousins , Auntie Kit and Janet.
Evan once more was an excellent host. The cottages are to a very high standard in all aspects. Thank you Evan.
Jill and Rich Starling. Gloucestershire. Ian and Ann Calder. London
Lue and Rex Frost. Exmouth, Devon. 3-7February 2020

A wonderful relaxing weekend, just what we needed, as always a beautiful warm, cosy cottage.
Thank you Evan.
Audrey and Ray Mayer. Cheshire. 16-19 January 2020

Helygen

This is our third visit and we should be staying another week, but courtesy to the Coronavirus we have to return earlier than planned to Canada. We are very sad to be leaving as it seems untouched by the craziness happening in the World here at Evan’s lovely cottage. We are so glad to have our Welsh
“fix”, enjoying he beautiful spring flowers and the increasing lamb population.
Thank you Evan, the cottage is as wonderful as always. Many thanks for the delicious Welsh treats. We look forward to returning.
John and Pam Orange. Anten Mills, Ontario, Canada. 7-20 March 2020

We’ve had such a wonderful stay here- the cottage was cosy and the views were AMAZING. We all had the most incredible lunch at the White Lion, pudding was delicious and they had vegetarian options too. Despite the weather we’ve been able to get out for many walks including Walk 4 in the Ceredigion Walks book. On clear nights we also saw so many stars-lots more than when in Birmingham! We even saw some shooting stars!
Thank you so much Evan for being so kind and hospitable.
Mel, Andy, Mia and Erin. Birmingham. 14-21 February 2020

Wet,Wet,Wet,but we had a fabulous time.The cottage is a home from home, with everything you need. Bow Street fish & chip shop was a wonderful surprise. Well worth a visit for that lazy night in. We are so sad to leave but looking forward to our return visit! Thank you Evan.
Ann and Kevin Rutter, Bedfordshire. 12-19 Oct 2019

Wonderful cottage, wonderful host, what more can one say!
Lin, Lindsay and Mick. Cotswolds. 28 Sept-6 Oct 2019

A quick two night stop while settling our daughter into University.Our first stay at Helygen, but have stayed at Llechwedd Mawr many times and back again next month. All these cottages are superb, thank you Evan.
Nathan, Julie, Hazel and Max. Oxon. 21-23 Sept 2019

What an amazing first experience we have had.Evan’s hospitality and help has been first class.Beautiful house, beautiful scenery, and an amazing welcome pack was very much appreciated.We will definitely be returning as we and the dog have had the best time.Thank you Evan, see you next year!!
Anita, Mark, James and Louis. Colchester. 24-31 Aug 2019

Though we have said it over and over again-it is well worth repeating.A haven of tranquility -as always we have enjoyed our week with refreshing Welsh air and countryside .The”girls”have bounded through the waves, undergrowth and open countryside with great delight. Once again, if there were a Michelin stars for Welsh Cottages these would definitely deserve them.Evan- diolch yn fawr am wythnos gofiadwy arall a rholio ymlaen y flwyddyn nesaf. (Translated-thank you so much Evan for another memorable week, roll on next year.)
Stephen and Glenda Taylor. Hampshire. 18-24Aug 2019

Lovely to return again, Thank you Evan. We have had a wonderful time in the best holiday home for miles. See you next year – if not sooner.
Bill, Angharad, Rhys and Kit. London. 10-17 Aug. 2019

What a lovely holiday cottage in a beautiful location.
We have had a great holiday in WALES yet again, my favourite place to visit.Thank you Evan for being so fab!
The Draycotts. Nottingham. 3-10 Aug. 2019

Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing week.The cottage had everything we needed to feel at home away from home and was the perfect starting point to explore the beauties of Wales. The best part was the peace, calmness and beautiful scenery-the perfect break from city life.
The Hackstein Family. Innsworth and Berlin. 27 July-3 Aug. 2019

Thanks for yet another wonderful week. We’ve lost count of the number of times we’ve stayed here, this time we’ve discovered new places in Ceredigion.We simply love our stays here, and we’ll keep coming back. Until next time Evan!!
Bruce, Louise and Mae Harfield. Dubai. 20-27 July 2019

Thank you Evan, we’ve enjoyed a wonderful week. What a fabulous location, the scenery is stunning and the area so peaceful and quiet.Lovely comfortable accommodation. So nice to be greeted on our arrival by Evan, and with tasty welcome treats.The dogs were able to run in adjoining fields, thank you so much.
The Sankey’s and Frost, Salisbury and Somerset. 13-20July 2019

Llechwedd Mawr

Hi Evan, we’ve arrived home safely after a great week at your wonderful cottage. I’m sorry I didn’t get to speak to you personally as we left but I wish to thank you for the treats that awaited us and for your patience and help in showing us the workings of the solar systems etc and for the loan of your 4×4, I don’t think we would have made it across towards the end of the week without it! The cottage is extremely homely with good quality furnishings and appliances which we very much appreciated. The log burner was a welcome addition too. We are certainly coming away with some fantastic memories and wouldn’t hesitate to book another stay in the future.

With best wishes, Karen and family

September 2020

We stayed at the cottage during storm Dennis, although the weather was torrential rain and hailstones outside, inside the cottage was welcoming, cosy and comfortable.We still managed to enjoy lots of walks around the beautiful surrounding areas.We appreciated a visit from Evan who wanted to check that we were okay. We have loved staying here.
Matt ,Ali and Dilly the dog. Atherstone. 14-21 Jan. 2020

Reflection on all the notes of others it’s DITO for us! Our first time, feeling that one week is not enough.For sure we will come back,Bear the dog loved it too.
Richard and Margareta Mayhew. East Sussex. 26 Jan-2 Feb, 2020

Diolch am penwythnos anhygol mewn ardal mor hyfryd. Gnaethom fwynhau gyrru’r 4+4 drwyr afon! Byddwn yn ol.
Mal, Carol and Family. Port Talbot. 17- 20 Jan. 2020

Our 4th stay at our favourite cottage.Each time we fall in love with it even more.
Two weeks is still not enough time at this special place. Thank you Evan,see you next year.
Chris,Jana and Molly the dog. Seaford, East Sussex. 20 Dec 2019 -3Jan 2020

Thank you for a lovely stay in a wonderful cottage. We’ve all had a brilliant time.
Hope to come back again one day.
Matt, Jess Onslow. and Monty the dog. Marlborough. 13-20Dec. 2019

Perfect weekend in every way! Our 4th stay in this magical place and we love it even more. Very spoilt with beautiful clear skies, sunshine and stars! Will be back soon!
Sarah, Vinny, Thomas and James. 29 Nov- 2 Dec. 2019

Perfect location, amazing views, and an ideal host! Thank you.
Paul and Paul. Carolyn and Christine.West Sussex. 8-15 Nov.2019

Thank you Evan for another fab week, it’s been idyllic, peaceful and recharged our batteries to go back to reality! Dogs have been so happy and exhausted every day! The most perfect retreat.
Paul and Debbie Essam. South Devon.
11-18 Oct 2019

After a dodgy start and loosing a day in this beautiful location due to nature, we have had an amazing, relaxing week.
Evan is truly amazing, he knew we desperately wanted to get to this great place and at 8.00 am on Saturday morning, the boys and Evan did a recce to the river. After the use of his car and a couple of journeys we finally made it! The weather has been mixed but hasn’t spoilt anything.It’s just gone too quickly. We can’t wait to come back!
Sue and Paul. Staffs. Jayne and Sid. Hampshire. 27 Sept-4 Oct 2019

Love it! Thank you for this brilliant place. Lots of walks done despite the wet weather. Thank you so much for the loan of the 4+4 too (after being stranded for a day) but what an adventure! Hope to come back soon! Thank you.
Chris and Bev. Norwich. 20-27 Sept. 2019

Back To Top
Close search
Search